Welcome!

Hello, readers!

The pages before you constitute my final multimodal project for Professor Josh Stenger’s Digital Culture class at Wheaton College in Norton, MA. For this project, I decided that I wanted to study the evolution of language styles used on different platforms of computer-mediated communication–most notably those of text messaging, instant messaging and email–as well as the complex relationship that they have with traditional writing and speech. I ended up discovering that this hyper-accelerated linguistic evolution has a dark side to it, hidden by news media and commercial interests and consumed by a thirst for money and power. I find it to be immensely interesting and I hope you agree.

If you readers have any comments or questions, don’t hesitate to post them and I will respond as soon as I am able. In the meantime, click the arrow below to begin reading about the rise of netspeak.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment